Space News
Space News
SMI s 16th Annual Global MilSatCom November 2014 London
Loading
   
SDNews
2012-12-03 12:22:05

Sea Launch Successfully Delivers the EUTELSAT 70B Spacecraft into Orbit

Sea Launch AG has successfully launched the EUTELSAT-70B satellite from the Equator on the ocean-based Launch Platform Odyssey, completing its 2nd mission for Eutelsat and marking the completion of Sea Launch’s third and final mission in 2012.

The Zenit-3SL rocket carrying the spacecraft lifted off at 12:43:59 Pacific Standard Time (PST) on Monday, December 3rd (20:43:59 UTC/GMT, 21:43:59 CET) from the launch platform, positioned at 154 degrees West longitude in the Pacific Ocean. One hour and six minutes later, the Block DM-SL upper stage inserted the satellite, weighing 5,210 kilograms (11,485 lbs.) and built by Astrium, an EADS company, into geosynchronous transfer orbit, on its way to a final orbital position at 70.5 degrees East longitude. Eutelsat acquired the spacecraft’s first signals from orbit shortly after spacecraft separation. All systems performed nominally throughout the launch mission.

The EUTELSAT 70B satellite is based on the Astrium Eurostar E-3000 platform with a designed in-orbit lifetime exceeding 15 years. With a 48- Ku-band transponder payload, it will replace the EUTELSAT 70A spacecraft and more than double Eutelsat's resources at its 70.5° East longitude location to provide premium communications services for users in Europe, Africa, Asia and Australia.



For more information contact:
SDNews


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Email: info@thespacedirectory.com
By using www.thespacedirectory.com you are agreeing to our Conditions of Use.
© KNM Media Ltd 2012. All rights reserved.